Wire size long run

As we know our 50 amp cord is #6. To move my current utility pole will be in the thousands. If use current location, need taller post is all, very little cost. Extend mast and hook up down payment. But need to run my 50 amp service app 300 feet. So any idea what size I need. #1 would give me .7% drop. 

Edited by GlennWest

2003 Teton Grand Freedom towed with 2006 Freightliner Century 120 across the beautiful USA welding pipe.https://photos.app.goo.gl/O32ZjgzSzgK7LAyt1

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

44 minutes ago, GlennWest said:

As we know our 50 amp cord is #6. To move my current utility pole will be in the thousands. If use current location, need taller post is all, very little cost. Extend mast and hook up down payment. But need to run my 50 amp service app 300 feet. So any idea what size I need. #1 would give me .7% drop. 

I am not sure I understand your question and will admit I am not an electrician. If you could clarify a bit I will pose the question to my son who is a licensed electrician.

SignatureNewest.jpg.a1bc8322b0862056fd28e25d5b1458db.jpg

This calculator says you need #3 AWG wire for a 300 ft run with an allowable 3% voltage drop. The items I input were 240 source voltage, single-phase, 50 amp, 300 ft, 3% drop.

http://www.paigewire.com/pumpWireCalc.aspx

Edited by Dutch_12078

Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F-53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/brake system

1 hour ago, GlennWest said:

As we know our 50 amp cord is #6. To move my current utility pole will be in the thousands. If use current location, need taller post is all, very little cost. Extend mast and hook up down payment. But need to run my 50 amp service app 300 feet. So any idea what size I need.

I assumed with 50 amp you're planning a 120 volt system? That calculates out to 1 awg when using copper. That yields 3.10% voltage drop, which is decent. Jay