Question, recharge the AC, do it yourself or take it to a shop?

mr. cob

Howdy All,

I have been driving the Pete for four years now and the AC has slowly gotten less efficient in cooling and is now not doing much.  I have watched a bunch of youtube videos and it seems like an easy task to just buy a recharge kit from an auto parts store and do the job yourself, other videos warn AGAINST doing it yourself as there is no way to vacuum out the air that is in the system or tell how much pressure is in the system when using the do it yourself kit.

So, what have you folks done? Buy the do it yourself for under 50 bucks or take it to a shop for a couple hundred, any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Dave

2001 Peterbilt, 379, Known As "Semi-Sane II", towing a 2014 Voltage 3818, 45 foot long toy hauler crammed full of motorcycles of all types.  Visit my photo web site where you will find thousands of photos of my motorcycle wanderings and other aspects of my life, click this link. http://mr-cob.smugmug.com/

IMG_4282-600x310.jpg

I have always considered the intent of what I am trying to accomplish.  In my IH, it was quite common for those systems to leak down a bit and since I used it sparingly, I wasnt about to spend hundreds of dollars to repair the system as I suspected that it may be leaking down due to lack of use.  I decided that I would do a repair ONLY IF we went to a far more consistent use of the truck but for now I was going to just recharge it as needed.  I bought the kit with the leak sealer(I suspected that just like cooling system leak sealers, I didnt want this stuff all over the system but since it was likely that I would need to replace some of the components in a repair the leak sealer was OK for temporary use) and filled the system when I needed to.  I found this method to be quite satisfactory for my purposes and my system held the charge for most of the season we needed.