Question for the tool junkies

SuiteSuccess

My good friend GeorgiaHybrid would steer me to SnapOn but I need a good tap and die set in SAE and Metric that will hold up and not break the bank.  I use it probably 6-8 times per year and my Chinese junk is breaking.

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

I have a Snap-on but it is not cheap.  Have not broke any taps like I have the cheap stuff.  I use mine 4-5 times a year now, used to use it alot when I worked as a mechanic.

If I remember right, I paid ~$600 for mine, that was a good 15 yrs back.  No idea what mine would run now.

Edited by NDBirdman

2002 Fifth Avenue RV (RIP) 2015 Ram 3500 Mega-cab DRW(38k miles), 6.7L Cummins Diesel, A668RFE, 3.73, 14,000 GVWR, 5,630 Payload, 27,300 GCWR, 18,460 Max Trailer Weight Rating(For Sale) , living in the frigid north, ND.

The small sets that the tool trucks sell are Hanson.    They are OK in a pinch, as mentioned Greenfield or GTD are a good old main line brand.     If you want "good" taps get HSS not carbon.    There are several good tap and die makers R&N, Butterfield, Union etc.     Finding a good set from a US maker is going to be much higher than a hardware store set or a Snap-On truck.

I buy sets of taper, plug and, bottoming taps in the sizes I use,  McMaster has GTD sets for reasonable rates, buy the sizes you use often to start.

Steve

2005 Peterbilt 387-112 Baby Cat 9 speed U-shift

1996/2016 remod Teton Royal Atlanta

1996 Kentucky 48 single drop stacker garage project

catdiesellogo.jpg.e96e571c41096ef39b447f78b9c2027c.jpg Pulls like a train, sounds like a plane....faster than a Cheetah sniffin cocaine.