Looking for info about California fires impacting travel, and 80w rest stops

Zenguitarguy

We have been planning a trip end of September from Longmont Co to Arcata Ca. We have a rented. 30 ft RV for 2 weeks and will be driving cross country.
Our route is 80w through Salt lake and Sacramento to the 5N to 20w to 101 N then back the same way.1 week later.

We are concerned as the rental is not cheap and we are seeing a lot of fires on what appears to be our route.

Has anyone heard anything about the wildfires impacting that route?

As a side note: aside from Walmarts along the way can anyone recommend specific safe rest stops and sleep places?

Thanks. 

(I am a newbie RV driver and we are driving across country to visit our older son and don't know a lot about this kind of travel. Many of my other basic questions were answered by kind people here, so we really appreciate the good advice and help!

6 hours ago, Zenguitarguy said:

Our route is 80w through Salt lake and Sacramento to the 5N to 20w to 101 N then back the same way.1 week later.

For someone with little RV experience and limited time to travel, that is the route that I would suggest. If you do some digging on older threads, amarie1 began a thread with similar questions and then has since made the trip to pretty nearly that same area, but from Chicago and like you was taking I-80 and then US101 in northern CA. The last that she posted she had arrived there and had no problems. 

On the fire issues in that area, there have been a few road closures from the fires, but I don't know of any that impact the route you will travel. After you get on US101, there is a fire at present to the west of Healdsburg or to the northwest of Santa Rosa. There is a map that is updated frequently bu Cal-Fire so keep an eye on it and plan your trip. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI