Safely working under coach

Schake

I need to get under my new-to-us 45ft class diesel pusher to replace a device. Being a total newbie, everything is new and unfamiliar, and I don’t want to assume anything. Seems logical to use chocks and something to keep coach from dropping on me. However, a web search turns up nothing about chocks for any motor home, much less one as large and heavy as mine. 

What safety precautions do you take before crawling under a coach?

Assuming you are talking - flat, level ground.

Plenty of RV suppliers offering chocks at varying prices - or at serious (truck supply) stores.  Google is your friend.

For immediate use - go to your local Home depot, Lowe's, etc. - have them cut a 4 x 6 into 18-24 inch sections to use as chocks.

On *level* ground with the parking brake set chock the wheels - on at least one set of wheels, chock "fore and aft".

*If* you need to raise any part of your RV - from reading your post - as a "total newbie"  - you need more advice/help for the situation than offered on an internet site!  Pay a pro to perform the desired maint.

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure (or the weight of an RV falling on you).  Think "Murphy's law".

A friend was killed having the RV fall on him and it was chocked.  You might want to pay to have it done ... at least the first time .... to see what precautions they take.

Full-timed for 16 Years
Traveled 8 yr in a 2004 Newmar Dutch Star 40' Motorhome
and 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th Wheel

Your coach has air suspension. DO NOT go underneath unless it is blocked to prevent a suspension collapse that will make your body thinner. A thinner body is a good thing except circulating blood and breathing are difficult. Air suspensions are known  to drop suddenly without any indication of imminent failure. 

Be careful.

Bill is

Bill & Lynn Baxter

MCI102A3 Conversion, Detroit Diesel S50  

dolphins.jpgVisitedStatesMap.jpgVisitedProvincesMap.jpg

48 minutes ago, Kirk W said: