Post Office funding

bigjim

I have read and heard some scuttlebut about some issue on funding for the post office. I am not seeing or hearing much but read the the guy with the best brain has already stated he would veto any funding assistance to maintain the viability of the post office.  They are supposedly getting hit financially  just like many other entities due to the corvid 19 issue.   I think the post office is vital to the country and should be supported even at  deficit.  Is anyone else seeing or hearing anything about this?  For what it is worth I called my Rep. and Senators and expressed my view to their recording of  your call.  I don't expect a lot since I am a Livingston resident and long time Texan so I don't think I have any real representation but maybe if enough people contacted them we might get their attention.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Read

https://www.uspsoig.gov/blog/be-careful-what-you-assume

and understand a long time ago congress required that the post office set aside retirement and health benefits for all employees present and future for the next approx. 75 years (started about 2011?).  So name me one other company is the USA that is required to set aside all retirement and health up front for present and or future workers. 

So maybe just a thought FEDEX, Google Amazon and who ever, and congress and senate maybe they caused this problem with the post office and in reality (maybe a little with the corvid-19).  

So just my option maybe the problem is the senate and congress.  So before you slam the post office ask and find out why they are the only company/business that is required to set aside retirement/health up from for present/future workers.