Another Newb to the HDT arena

Sinbad5024

Hello Everyone,

I have been a reader and a lurker here for a while trying to get as much education as possible. We have just sold our CC Dually and have a truck that we are looking at. I have an inspection scheduled for Wednesday, already have the dyno results and if everything looks good, we will negotiate the final price. We are looking at a 2007 780, D12 and an auto.

We are a little nervous as this is a new adventure and the unknown makes it exciting as well. We will be pulling a fifth wheel and a gooseneck, but not at the same time. I do have a couple of questions. Those of you who do your own work, do you do general maintenance (oil, trans, lube, etc), how/where do you recycle your fluids? How big of a drainpan do you use? Is it worth it, or is Speedco the way to go on this? I used to be an auto tech for many years so the mechanical part doesn't scare me, just the size of the parts. Any help/advice you can give me would be much appreciated.

Thank you, Shane

2007 Volvo VNL 780 "Vlad"

2008 Dutchmen Grand Junction 34QRL

For my Volvo, there were people who did that work. I took it to the dealer once a year for the oil and filters change and to have the whole truck looked over.

Please click for Emails instead of PM
Mark & Dale
Joey - 2016 Bounder 33C Tige - 2006 40' Travel Supreme
Sparky III - 2021 Mustang Mach-e, off the the Road since 2019
Useful HDT Truck, Trailer, and Full-timing Info at
www.dmbruss.com

We also have a 2007 D12 with an Ultrashift.

Our trailer was a gooseneck (to haul 3 race cars) but we switched it over to 5th wheel to take advantage of the very nice 5th wheel ET hitch on the truck.