Axle weights and traction

Ethos

I bought a rescue truck that I am converting to an RV.

Firetruck chassis with ambulance rear.  Being a firetruck chassis, the engine extends over the front axle a bit.

Traction on icy conditions is very poor.  Tires are in good condition.

Steer axle weight is 11,500.  Drive axle weight is 7060.

Gvwr is 26000 lbs.

Will adding some weight to the rear make much of a difference?  

I'm new to RVing and new to medium duty trucks.

All advice is welcome.

rsz_pxl_20230220_210121681.thumb.jpg.eb83ee3f73febb1eb5de3914163f4ead.jpg

Congrats, please post your progress. Many have thought about it, but only a few have actually done. 

Traction on Ice is never good. My plan is to stay put unless something really important changes said plan. 

Be sure to check the dates on the tires. They may look really good, but maybe as old as the rig depending on how many miles are on it. 

My initial thoughts this morning. 

Rod

White 2000/2010Volvo VNL 770 with 7' Drom box with opposing doors,  JOST slider hitch. 600 HP Cummins Signature 18 Speed three pedal auto shift.

1999 Isuzu VehiCross retired to a sticks and bricks garage. Brought out of storage the summer of 2022

2022 Jeep Wrangler Sport S Two door hard top.

2007 Honda GL 1800

2013 Space Craft Mfg S420 Custom built Toyhauler

The Gold Volvo is still running and being emptied in July. 

As you convert it to an RV, you'll be adding a significant amount of weight. That will help improve both the ride and traction. Putting some of your heavier items as far back as possible will help transfer some of that weight toward the rear and help balance out your axle weights. Jay

Put your auxiliary freshwater tank of your generator fuel tank behind the rear axle. That is a good way to gain some weight in a hurry. 

Farmer, Trucker, Equipment operator, Mechanic

Quando omni flunkus moritati-When all else fails, play dead
I'm a man, but I can change, if I have to, I guess.

• 2 weeks later...