Looking into an HDT truck, what does a newbie need to know?

Brass

Hi everyone.

My wife and I have been RVing for a few years now having started with bumper pulls and then bigger bumper pulls and for the past few years we've been in a 15k lbs 5th and are looking to go to bigger again. The RV toy hauler we plan to purchase will end up at around 20k lbs. We also fully expect to be moving to something larger again in a few (5-6) years down the road. We want to upgrade our tow vehicle now before we upgrade the RV so we know what we can handle (or not handle).

My current truck, a 2015 SRW Ford superduty diesel is only rated to pull a max of about 16k and the thought of buying another truck with DRW but otherwise the same is a struggle for me to wrap my mind around. So we have been looking at options and that has taken us towards HDT's.

The trouble there is, we don't know what we don't know. A simple statement. Being so new to the thought of using an HDT, we don't know what questions to ask, what limitations there are, what the downsides are, what and where we will encounter hurdles or complete road blocks and how to get around those issues.

Naturally we have tried to search out as much as we can, You Tube has been a great source of information and one person there has posted hundreds of vids about his business of converting Volvos for RV hauling. No doubt many of you are familiar with who I am referring to. Again, that has been a great source of information but it is only one source. Due diligence says I need to ask more questions to more people.

As with any question, details help to ensure the most correct response is reached. With that in mind I'll share some information about how we use our RV.