Electric question - 50 and 30 amp receptacles

Please bear with me, I'm not an electrician by any means.

Our motorhome is 50 amp.  We also travel with a Ford C-Max Energi - a plugin Hybrid.  It charges on 110.  Usually I plug the motorhome in to the power pedestal 50 amp outlet.  I then plug the car into the 30 amp outlet.  It has always worked okay till now.  Today the motorhome surgeguard reports low voltage (103v) on L2 when the car is charging.  Otherwise, with the car unplugged it is about the same as L1 - around 113v. 

I normally don't charge the car during the day, knowing it is better to charge it when the temps aren't so high.  Today, I rolled the windows down and went ahead and charged it (never mind the reason). 

So, I'm guessing the 30 amp receptacle is wired off of L2 and the car charging is pulling the voltage down.

1. Is that likely the reason for the low voltage on L2 when the car is plugged in?

2. Is it normal for the 30 amp plug on the pedestal to be connected to one side of the 50 amp?

I doubt there will be many times when I want to charge the car on a hot afternoon - so it really isn't a big deal.  Still, I'd like to understand what was happening a bit better.

Thanks.

Edited by GR "Scott" Cundiff

Our "Here and There" Blog

2005 Safari Cheetah Motorhome

1 hour ago, GR "Scott" Cundiff said:

So, I'm guessing the 30 amp receptacle is wired off of L2 and the car charging is pulling the voltage down.

1. Is that likely the reason for the low voltage on L2 when the car is plugged in?

2. Is it normal for the 30 amp plug on the pedestal to be connected to one side of the 50 amp?

1. Yes. ish. If this is on your own property, I'd be checking connections all the way back to the breaker feeding the receptacle. At the very least, confirming wire size and run length. If it's an RV park, you might be stuck suffering through it until the next park.