Mandatory mechanical safety inspections class 7 & 8 trucks

noteven

No. It varies from state to state. Generally if the state has a vehicle inspection requirement, it applies to all vehicles. I am not aware of a state that singles out certain classes of vehicles.

There is however the FMCSA regulation requiring all commercial vehicles over 10,000 #'s to be inspected annually. Those inspections can be completed by any "qualified" inspector as defined in the regulations. By their definition I am a qualified inspector because I attended technical school 40 some years ago and have much experience.

You can purchase the sticker and insprction form produced by JJ Keller in most truckstops. $3.99. Other than occasionally checking for the sticker, the authorities rarely check to if the inspector is indeed qualified.

Jeff Beyer temporarily retired from Trailer Transit
2000 Freightliner Argosy Cabover
2008 Work and Play 34FK
Homebase NW Indiana, no longer full time

California requires an inspection every 90 days for commercial over 26,000#s.

"It is better to have more truck than you need than to need more truck than you have"

2001 Volvo 660, Cummins 400 ISX, Eaton 3 Peddle Auto Shift    
2014 Fuzion 40' Toyhauler
2015 Smart Car                                                                                                                                                                          

Do all States require class 7 and 8 trucks in commercial service to have complete mechanical fitness safety inspections documented every 6 to 12 months?

Since this is an RV forum and 99.97% of the vehicles here are not in commercial service (Jeff being the only one I know of) I am curious about the reasoning behind your question.

MY PEOPLE SKILLS ARE JUST FINE.
~It's my tolerance to idiots that needs work.~

2005 Volvo 780 VED12 465hp / Freedomline transmission
singled mid position / Bed by Larry Herrin
2018 customed Mobile Suites 40KSSB3 

2014 smart Fortwo