Starting with a Clean Slate

FrankM

Hi, I'm Frank, and I'm brand new to pretty much every aspect of all this. I've decided to become a full-time RVer, and I'm starting from scratch, vs graduating from part time. I'm looking at a driveable class B+ or C, that much I know. I've got $20k to work with, plus $1300/mo income. This needs to cover everything, from initial purchase to living on the road (so we're talking used here).

I've done minimal research, enough to get an idea of just how much I need to know (about), both before and after purchase. A Lot!! figure a couple good books may be valuable at this point, any recommendations?? No doubt there's lots of books out there.

There's going to be lots of preparation, and I have some time, though the sooner I can launch the better. Thanks for reading this, and feel free to ask questions, as well as as any suggestions or advice.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

One concern--I hope you have some savings for repairs and things like tires, as a backup.  Living in an RV is not cheap, although there are ways to save money.  One way is to workcamp and get a free site and another is to boondock, but you will need a good generator or roof full of solar energy cells. 

Buying used, at the budget you describe, means that you will have things that need repair, plus you will probably need a set of new tires, which will cost about $200 each.  Things like hot water tanks and refrigerators are a lot more expensive than you think.

You might want to look at forums that mention something like RVing on a budget.