Got a favorite photograph?

Kirk W

I apply to quite a few galleries and juried shows.  In this case I will pass.  I generally like to have my work juried by someone other than the staff of an RV club.  If the club wants to run a serious photo contest, I would recommend they contact a knowledgeable individual who is involved with art and photography.

12 hours ago, JimK said:

I generally like to have my work juried by someone other than the staff of an RV club

You obviously do not consider yourself to be an amateur hobby photographer. This was never intended to be for professionals but is mostly for fun. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I am not a professional but I am serious about trying to learn how to express myself and to communicate through photography and now through painting.  I try to learn from artists of the past and from those who have devoted their lives to the visual arts.  Getting a ribbon awarded by a travel club member seems well short of that.  The net result will likely be a handful of people who get ribbons and a whole lot more who are disappointed.

Again, if the club wants to do something of significance with this project, I would recommend they start by finding some experienced jurors. 

Additional explanation:  There are millions of people in the US who spend time learning at least the basics of photography and who try to achieve good results.  There are tens of thousands of photographers who belong to camera clubs, who are trained artists or who have taken courses and studied photography.  It seems to me that having trained jurors is just a basic sign of respect for the work and effort people put into their craft.  It is not difficult or at all expensive to do this.