HELP! Next size up from DRW Pickup?

rbertalotto

I currently have a Dodge, 2500 Diesel and pull a small Toy Hauler. Wife and I are talking about taking a few years off to full-time. Looking at HDT, but the Volvo that most of you folks recommend is simply too large.

Looked at Dodge 5500 but was wondering if there was something in between a PU and a full blown over the road tractor.

I'm a welder and extremely handy so buying a truck that I could add a small sleeper behind the cab, shorten the chassis, etc....might be possible.

IH 4700 I've seen refered to....Comments?

I don't want to give up the towing performance I enjoy with my Cummins, but I want the safety and stability of a bigger truck for a tri-axle toy hauler.

Thanks

RoyB

South of Boston

2021 Dodge 2500 - 6.4L

Forest River 19RR Toy Hauler

Roofnest Falcon Rooftop Tent

www.rvbprecision.com

Try looking for a Medium Duty (class 6) Freightliner M2-106 that will have an engine in the 1,000 ft-lb range for power or a Freightliner M2-112 (class 7) truck that will run the same engine as the big boys with power in the 1650 ft-lb range. My M2-112 will fit in a 10'x10' garage door and is 23'-0 long. They come with several different cabs but most of us run the 4 door versions. The class 7 trucks also have the advantage of air brakes, a true Jacobs engine brake, air ride suspension, seats and cab and all the power you will ever need plus the convenience of a true Allison Auto transmission that anyone could drive.

The class 6 trucks run hydraulic brakes and can be driven with a regular class C drivers license. The bigger truck can be driven with the same license in some states but others might require a non commercial class A. Mind you, in Georgia, that consists of taking the CDL written test which is not that difficult and no driving test. Texas will require a driving test. other states will vary and you need to check the rules in your license state.

2017 Kenworth T680
2015 DRV 38RSSA Elite Suites