Setting Up Domicile in Florida (one at a time)

My wife and I are contemplating the steps needed to set up domicile in Florida and hitting the road for a year. I’d like to come out to Florida with the travel trailer to set up domicile for myself first and then have her come out a few months later to set things up for herself. I won’t go into the why of all that but does anyone see a problem doing it separately? I think, legally, there is no married residency status; only individual.

If it's anything like transferring vehicles when you move there, it's a PITA. I was a travel nurse in the 1980's and decided to stay for a bit. It took me weeks to get all the paper work and transfer two wheeled vehicles from a Midwest licensing state to the State of Florida.  At that time there was also an excise tax or something and inspections. Not sure if it's the same now, I left Florida and would never live there again. JMHO. 

Rod

White 2000/2010Volvo VNL 770 with 7' Drom box with opposing doors,  JOST slider hitch. 600 HP Cummins Signature 18 Speed three pedal auto shift.

1999 Isuzu VehiCross retired to a sticks and bricks garage. Brought out of storage the summer of 2022

2022 Jeep Wrangler Sport S Two door hard top.

2007 Honda GL 1800

2013 Space Craft Mfg S420 Custom built Toyhauler

The Gold Volvo is still running and being emptied in July. 

Are you sure that you understand what domicile involves? If you have not done so, I suggest that you take time to read The Issue of Doimicilewritten by a practicing attorney. The problem that I see in what you are suggesting is in things like vehicles that are titled in both names and the insurance on them, taxes paid at both state and federal levels which have been filed jointly, and a host of other things. In order for you to have separate domiciles you will pretty much need to divide things in the same way that you would if divorceing. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.