Freightliner FL70

Moosetrax

Just joined the forum and have a question I hope someone can answer. I have a 2017 Keystone Montana 3271 Legacy that has dry weight of 12600 & 16,800 lbs full. I have a 2001 Ford F350 and have had lots of work done to increase power especially through the mountains. After pouring ~ $8000 into it (rebuilt tranny, Edge computer and hydra chip, new pipes on Turbo, new Turbo wheel, etc.) it is not really that much better than it was originally. I am looking for a Class 7 or Class 8 truck to pull my RV. I found a truck on Craigslist that I am very interested in but not sure if it will have the power to travel through the west mountains and pull my RV without stress. It has the following Equipment: Cummins ISC 250 HP; Eaton Fuller RT-8709B 9-speed transmission; 10,000# Front axle; 19,000# Rear Axel; 3.07 Axle ratio; GVWR 26,000#; Air Brakes; Air system dryer. I am new to these trucks and really don't know what I should be looking for. Any help or information would be greatly appreciated. Not sure if this is how I should post this or if I am in the right area.

For something to go through the mountains with, you want something with good torque, multi stage engine brake setup, and good main brakes.  At 250HP, not sure that would meet your power needs, even with a 9 speed tranny behind it.

Dan & Bree

2010 Freightliner Cascadia 125, DD15, 455hp, UltraShift (Yetti, For Sale)

2015 Grand Design Reflection 308BHTS Travel Trailer (For Sale)

I had a FL60 with a 5.9 Cummins (230HP) and a 6-speed manual transmission.

It was good, but not enough power (and not enough gears to keep it in the power range). Compared to the Volvo, it was quite a bit louder and less comfortable on the highway.

A class-8 truck will be a better ride with more power.

2007 Volvo 780 Volvo D12D, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

I'm out west, if you want to play in the hills you will need 470hp and above! I know others will say different, but I do live and play out west!