High Rise Sleeper Height Issues

going360

Hello, I have been lurking here for a while and admit I am very new to the HDT scene. We have been towing our 38' fiver for two years now with a 1 ton Ford. Made several tips to the west coast from CO and many more trips into and through the Rocky Mountains. The fiver only weighs in at about 12,000 lbs dry (estimate) but with four kids the crew cab pickup is getting tight. I am very intrigued by the HDT possibility and have been researching it heavily for about a week (I realize thats not much time). I have gained a lot of info reading this forum and other sites.

One thing that seems to be controversial is how much the height of the HDT matters. I have read that you should never even think about a high rise sleeper as it will cut the RV Parks you can access in half!! Then I have read that its not that big of a deal and hasn't been an issue. The trailer I will be pulling is 12'8" tall. Thats without a AC on the front bedroom which I may add next summer. That would put it very close to if not slightly over 13'. Has any one here found the height of a 780 or any high rise sleeper to be an issue? I have ben looking at the Freightliners as well. If so would it affect your decision next time it comes to purchasing a truck?

There are a lot more 780's or 770's out there than 730s but I don't want to be sorry later.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

My 780 has not been an issue. It is 13'3" which is the height of my trailer. Most campgrounds figure trailers are gonna be about that height and plan access accordingly. So it really makes no sense to have a 13'3" trailer then worry about a lower truck height unless you are using the truck for other purposes as Glenn suggests.

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"