surge protection.

hello everyone !!

I am in process of purchasing a surge protector, but not sure wheather about to buy a portable one or hard wire one.

I am thinking to buy the hard wire one and install it by myself. I am not an electrician but i know plentiful information about it.

Has there been anyone that have any experiences about the surge protector,either portable or hard wire. Also, is it an easy process to install it?

Thank you very much

Henry

I have the Surge Guard 50 amp plus hard wired unit. I installed it myself. It was a pretty straight forward install. I like the unit very much and would not be without it. It has saved me a couple of times on low voltage situations that I would have been unaware of if I had not had the unit.

I chose the Surge Guard over the Progressive Industries unit for one simple reason. The Surge Guard gives you plain text descriptions of problems on the display, while the Progressive Industries unit gives you codes for problems. You then have to look the codes up to see what the fault is/was. I did not want to have to take the extra step to look up what the problem was if there was one. Other than that, they are both good units. (I will preface my previous statement with the fact that I purchased my unit three years ago and I do not know if the Progressive Industries unit has changed how it displays faults in the time since my purchase.)

2000 Kenworth T2000 w/ Cummins N14 and autoshift
2017 DRV Mobile Suite 40KSSB4 with factory mods, dealer mods and personal mods - now in the RV graveyard
2022 DRV Full House MX450 with customized floor plan
2018 Polaris RZR Turbo S (fits in the garage)
2016 Smart Car (fits in the garage or gets flat towed behind the DRV when the RZR is in the garage)
My First Solar Install Thread
My Second Solar Install Thread & Photos and Documents Related to the build
My MX450's solar, battery and inverter system - my biggest system yet!

chadheiser.com      West Coast HDT Rally Website

event.png