Swivelwheel trailer

cruisin66

I have been towing a swivel trailer for 4 1/2 years now and it allows me to take a motorcycle with us (1800 Goldwing, now 1300 VTX). We tow this behind our 34' Cameo fifthwheel and with a Chevy crewcab and full box gets us to 61' length. We have been full timing and been back and forth all over the USA, including 3 months in CA and 3 winters in FL and up the East coast and never once been stopped or questioned by a LEO on the setup. The swivel is considered a camper frame extension, so a licenses plate is not required, just move your camper plate to the back of the swivel trailer. The 8" load range D tire is hard to find from a dealer, so I carry 2 spares. With the Goldwing at 950 lbs, the tire would last 2500 miles, whereas the VTX at 550 lbs the tire last about 3500 miles. Our trailer is tapered at the rear, but you do have to watch the tail swing out on tight turns. I would suggest a rear mounted camera to monitor the trailer and it's load, also a tire monitor system. A battery golf cart might be a bit heavy for a swivel trailer, gas should be OK load wise. I searched the country on CL and found our used swivel trailer for half price.

Greg

Edited by gjhunter01

Thanks Greg

I have a 40ft trailer and my total length is about 59ft. I was looking at either the swivelwheel 58 or 58DW (8ft wide x 5ft deck.) I downsized from a BMW LT 900 lb to a BMW K1600GTL 700 lb. I figure my overall length to be in the 66 ft range. The model you have is longer and no longer made. Is yours a single wheel?

Paul

Several years ago I was interested in the Swivelwheel for the rear of my fifth wheel. I called the company in Katy, TX and asked them many questions. I asked whether it had to be licensed as a separate trailer. His answer was that in some states it did but in others it did not. He gave the example of his home State, Texas. He said that Texas considers the Swivelwheel a separate trailer and must be licensed as such. This may have changed.