BeckyG

Hello! I am new to owning a "camper". I have always tent camped. I bought a new 2021 Jayco travel trailer. Single axle. I've been given lots of advice of do this or that. I feel like it sways alot. An experienced large camper owner agrees. However, I've also been told that my frame should not be drilled to connect anything to and that I do not need any kind of stabilizer bars for such a small trailer. Any advice here? I'd like to decrease the bunny hopping and sway and not compromise the integrity of the frame. Thanks!

Welcome to the Escapees Forum!!

Proper tongue weight and level of the trailer can affect how much the trailer sways as can the relationship between the tow vehicle wheelbase and the trailer length. Here are some articles that may help. How to prevent trailer sway, trailer towing, trailer length. One thing that I did not see mentioned in these articles is using the brake controller to apply the trailer brakes without hitting the vehicle brakes. This will help straighten the track of the trailer and reduce the sway. This is the method used in some of the newer tow vehicles that have integrated trailer brake controllers incorporating anti-sway control. 

6 hours ago, BeckyG said:

I've also been told that my frame should not be drilled to connect anything to and that I do not need any kind of stabilizer bars for such a small trailer.

Who told you this? If it was not Jayco, I would contact Jayco and get their recommendations. 

Again, Welcome to the Escapees Forum!!

Edited by trailertraveler

There are  many factors that need to be  considered and all have an integral part in towing safety. 

Your tow vehicle. Is  it made  to tow or has it been converted? What  is it's tow capacity?

What is the tongue weight of your trailer and have you filled it with your stuff yet? 

What is the capacity of added weight?