How much LP gas does a RV frig use?

DaveK

I am a newbie/fulltimer trouble shooting a high LP gas consumption by my Dometic RM 3800 refrigerator. I am not sure if this is the right group, please advise if there is a better place to post my questions.

The frig runs a cold 5 to 10 degrees in the freezer constantly within 2 hours of start. This is true on electric or gas. The refrigerator compartment will cool to safe temp in 8 hours from start. When running on LP it seems to use 3 to 4 gallons per day and will empty our LP tank in 3 days. As a newbie this seems extremely high LP consumption! What is normal LP burn rate?

I am still determining if there is a LP leak adding or exclusive to the high burn rate. Still trouble shooting.

My main question, what is the rate of LP gas consumption I should expect from a Dometic RM3800.

Thank you in advance.

I could not find any gas consumption information in the manual, maybe look at their troubleshooting ?? Hardware stores have spray on leak detectors, LOOK FOR LEAKS !!!!!!!!!!! Is the burner flame blue or yellow ????

Things that come to mind are proper gas pressure and gas regulator operation,,,,,,,,is the stove flame normal and short and blue and NOT  huge and yellow and likewise the fridge burner flame short and blue instead of yellow ???? IF IN DOUBT HAVE A TECH CHECK LP GAS AND REGULATOR AND PRESSURES INCLUDING THE FRIDGE BURNER ORFICE

http://techsupport.pdxrvwholesale.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Dometic-Refrigerator-Installation-and-Operating-Instructions-RM3800.pdf

Are you sure its NOT the hot water heater or furnace or stove/oven using that much LP Gas ??????? 

Do you have an LP Gas Detector?? If not I strongly advise you to get one.

What size LP Tank do you have 20 30 50 lb ????

If it empties a 30 lb in 3 days, THAT SEEMS EXCESSIVE if alls well and there's no leaks ??

I don't remember if I've owned a 3800, but I've never in 49 years of RV ownership had a gas fridge empty a tank (many had 30) in 3 days