Rv Electrical

Rvdude22

Good afternoon I have recently purchased a 2007 Keystone Cougar 289BHS. I am new to the world of RVs. With this in mind me and my wife are going to be living in the Rv full time. We do not plan on moving the rv for awhile since we have nothing big enough to pull it with. The RV is a 50 amp with a single ac at the moment I am planning on adding a second to help cool the rv. We are needing extra fridge and freezer space which we are planning on running a 4.5 cubic ft in the area where the bunk beds are and 5.3 cubic ft deep freezer that will sit out side. We also want to use a portable washer. The only other electronics that will be used is normal stuff that would be used for entertainment. With all of this information for what I am drawing for power. Will I need to do anything special to prevent electrical damage to anything in the rv? Also what are some tips that I should look for or do while living in the rv? Thank you anything is appreciated. 

Edited by Rvdude22

Before you worry about electrical I would worry about weight. You are planning to add a lot of weight to the RV. It is not just the weight of each appliance but when food is added to both. Once you are in the RV, fully loaded get weighed to see  what your weight is. Then you can make some decisions. Don't forget the weight of the additional air conditioner also.

There shouldn’t be any major issues with your plans electrically.  You will need to make sure you are not trying to plug all of the appliances into the same circuit.  Rvs, especially less expensive ones tend to run single circuits for most of the plugs.  You will have to do some testing to see which plugs are on which circuits and make sure you spread the loads appropriately so you don’t plug everything into one circuit and over tax that single circuit breaker.  You will also want to spread the loads properly between line 1 and line 2 in the panel box.