Grand Canyon in December?

Ruben

Hi everyone, newbie here (to the forum, and fairly new to RVing, although some experience)

We're going on a cross-country trip in December. We is; my wife, our toddler, baby and me. We'll take about 4 weeks to drive from Northern California to Florida. There are 2 basic routes we're considering;

1. Via Grand Canyon etc. Mainly because I've never been there and would love love love to visit this part of the US.
  2. Drop down to San Diego, and take the Southern route.

The 2 main questions I have are;

1. What would your preferred route be?
  2. Does anyone have experience with Grand Canyon in December? I know it can get cold, but would you discourage it with kids around that time?

TIA! 

Here's the weather history for last December 2018 at the Grand Canyon:

High 59; Low 1

Average High 40; Average Low 14

That's very cold for camping although some do it.  You would need full winter gear for the toddler and baby.... and probably yourselves. The RV would be susceptible to freezing water pipes ..... and you'd use a lot of propane for heating.

Are you staying in Florida or will you be returning?  Best to do it on your return if in a better time period.

https://www.wunderground.com/history/monthly/us/az/grand-canyon/KGCN/date/2018-12

Edited by 2gypsies

Full-timed for 16 Years
Traveled 8 yr in a 2004 Newmar Dutch Star 40' Motorhome
and 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th Wheel

I agree with 2gypsies. I have heard of I 40 in Flagstaff being closed due to snow in these winter months months Dec,Jan,Feb, Mar.Apr. If you choose to use I 40, this website may be of great help: http://oss.weathershare.org/

It even has live weather/road cameras denoted on the maps.

Personally I would not take the risk with small children along.