HDT advice

Truck

Need a little advice from those of you that have been driving HDTs for bit.  Moving up from a 1ton dually that recently caught fire and burned to the ground.  So since I need a replacement I was thinking now might be the time to go to MDT or HDT.  The more I have read I’m leaning to HDT.  I’m not a trained mechanic but I’ve been working on cars and jeeps since I was young so not afraid to do my own work if I can learn what to do. 

Why do I need and what will I be using it for? 

Primary and long term use is to haul a trailer with Jeeps or vehicles to events.  I currently have a gooseneck trailer with truck slide in camper on it.  An HDT with a reasonable sleeper setup has me thinking I could use it the same as my slide in on trailer and have a shorter trailer or have room for another vehicle.  Short term use.  I will be moving from VA to CO over the course of the next 2 years.  I have several jeeps and cars in need of full restoration that I need to take out to CO.  An HDT would allow me to have a larger trailer and move 5-7 cars at a time vs. 2-3.  Making for significantly fewer trips.  May could even use a dry van for household goods.  In CO my driveway has a decent grade and is dirt/gravel (many places we take jeeps it is not paved).  I’m a little concerned on getting up it loaded.  Always put my truck in 4wd when pulling trailer.  This all is still unfamiliar territory for me and need to know if I’m on the right track for my needs or need to be thinking differently.