Recomendation please

cockneyboy

Hi Gang, total newbee to escapees. Herself and I are not quite ready to full time but are trading the bumper pull in for a much larger 5th wheel with multiple slides. For now we want to use it as a base in AZ until we get retire (if ever)We have owned every style and type of RV in the past 40 years and had some expensive lessons along the way. What I am hoping to get from y'all is some recommendations of well built long lasting brands and models. Every Rv manufacturer has a full selection of quality levels but I can't say in all my years that I have ever met an RV sales person that was unbiased and honest so I am turning to you guys the real users. I plan on having a 1 ton diesel dually for the tow vehicle so I should be able to pretty much pull anything within reason.

Thanks in advance for all and any advice.

I plan on having a 1 ton diesel dually for the tow vehicle so I should be able to pretty much pull anything within reason.

Unfortunately this may also be an expensive mistake. You need to be aware of all weights in order to decide which tow vehicle will work for the trailer you want. Pulling is one thing but more importantly is stopping. Newer 1 tons have a better capacity than the older ones, but it comes at a cost.

5th wheel trailers quality can be different from one year to another and from model to model within the same manufacturer. A lot will depend on what you are willing to spend. Spacecraft, New Horizons, Forks are just some of the well built full timer trailers. A lot all depends on what trailer has the features and floor plan you want. It is all about comprising.

Dave

2005 Freightliner Century S/T, Singled, Air ride ET Jr. hitch
2019 46'+ Dune Sport Man Cave custom 5th wheel toy hauler
Owner of the 1978 Custom Van "Star Dreamer" which might be seen at a local car show near you!

Check out http://www.hhrvresource.com/

for much more info on HDT's.