Our fulltime RV story

So, right off, I don't know if this is the right place, or if there is a right place on this forum, to just talk about lessons learned, marvelous sights, and stressful events. But here I go, anyway. Moderators can make their own decisions about this.

Our short travel history: We moved into a 2005 Hitchhiker trailer in August, 2014. 18 months ago. Never having spent a day in an RV before. We've toured in a circle, beginning in Colorado, to northern California, back to the desert southwest, returning to Colorado and then this last fall to Florida, where we camped by the ocean and lagoons, various state parks, and a few private and Escapee parks.

Our short mechanical history: I studied out brands before purchasing, talked on these forums to figure what kind of rig to get, studied how to inspect RVs, etc. Our HH started out needing many small repairs (I really do think many RV parts are designed to last about 10 years, and we got the privilege, and fun (it often was) of a seemingly unending list of smallish repairs. Vents, slide motor, caulking, trying to tow once using the electric pigtail.

I have really appreciated forum members advice on all of these topics as well as advice on designing and installing a solar system, and setting the rig up for comfortable booning. We've had a blast, up until recently, when we discovered fairly extensive water damage to the flooring above one side's tires - I believe due to our evacuation from an island, through a flooded roadway after tropical storm, Patricia, this last fall.

So here we sit, still mostly happy, but debating future choices. Keeping this 11 y.o. unit (which we strangely like) will have us looking at reflooring, slide seals in the next year or 2, and water heater and refrigerator replacement as they fail.

What have we learned in the last 18 months?

1. How to really inspect an RV.

2. How to do many different repairs - mostly fun.