taxed on value of free site?

trostberg

I am new to getting paid since I normally volunteer at national parks.

At Yellowstone I do not believe the $300 paid for my site was on my W2. This was WY.

In speaking with a KOA for tuture employment they would issue a 1099 and the value of the site with no wage) is taxable (WASHINGTON).

This is new to me. Any one else have this experience,

No free lunch anywhere. You may want to consider what you do for FREE. We have always avoided the for profit operations. If they are in the business for the money, then they may need to pay you in real money, not an over priced lot.

Safe Travels!

SKP #89742 - Lifetime membership - Member of the SKP Class of 2007
Good Sam Club - Lifetime Member
DataStorm #5423
Passport America - Lifetime Member
Sons Of The American Revolution (SAR) - Lifetime Member
American Legion - USAF - Lifetime Member
Rotary Club Member - 30 years

Escapee CARE Supporter

National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer

If the company you worked for sent a W-4 or 1099 to the IRS, you are liable to pay taxes, both federal and state. We had the same thing happen to us in Suprise, AZ. I called our accountant who confirmed with the IRS that we had to report the income. No money ever exchanged hands but our hours paid for our site. Some folks will tell you that you don't have to pay taxes on that but I would encourage you to seek professional advice. We have been audited twice and believe me, you don't ever want to go through one of those.

StarlifterFE
Retired USAF C-141 Flight Enginner
Full-Timers
2005 Holiday Rambler Ambasador

2010 Honda CR-V