What did you do for your truck today?

rickeieio

Well, it's not the Volvo, but I had some head scratching HDT issues of late.

A couple of weeks ago, my work truck, 2000 Mack, fired right up, then started stumbling, as if it were running out of fuel, then quit. Restarted, ran for a few more seconds, and quit again. I was in a hurry, so called a local truck repair shop and they sent a mechanic, who went to work while I ran some errands. When I returned, the truck was sitting there running, and he said all he could find was that the fuel filter ring was 1/2 turn loose. (Davco filter) That filter was last serviced two years ago, and I thought it odd that it had chosen to wait so long to loosen, but I'm not a mechanic.

Fast forward to yesterday. I fired up the truck to pull it in for a weekend of tinkering, and it fired, ran for 30 seconds, and stumbled to a stop. This morning, the fuel filter was empty, and the outside of it was dry. Refilled, primed the transfer pump, and got it running and into the shop. After some head scratching, I decided to pull the filter and inspect the gaskets. A-ha! There was a good bit of grit and crud on the gasket in the big ring which holds the inverted "bowl" on the housing. So, off to the Mack dealer for a new filter/gasket set. I'll let it set for a couple of days and see if the fuel level goes down in the glass.

While I was at the dealer, he asked if I had the proper wrench to remove the ring on the "bowl". I didn't, and bought one, complete with "Mack" logo, for $10. Sure makes it easier to over-tighten the ring. :o

Since it was in the warm and dry shop, I set about polishing the headlights. I used a Meguiar's kit, 1000 grit pad followed by 3000 grit, then polish, and finally sealer/protectant. Oh my, the difference. This truck only gets about 2000 miles/year, and little of that is at night, so new headlights are not something I want to spring for. We'll see how it works out.

KW T-680, POPEMOBILE
Newmar X-Aire, VATICAN