Comparing amp hours to watts

If a dc dummy like me is looking at a “1500 watt” portable power unit (aka “solar generator” -dumb term) what does that equal to in 12v battery “amp hours”?

I know I could “do a search” but maybe others will find this useful too.

"Are we there yet?" asked no motorcycle rider, ever. 

Watts are a measure of the amount of power, basically volts x amps. Amp-hours measure amps and time. ;) 1500 w divided by 12 volts gives 125 amps. If you have a pair of T105 Trojan batteries, theoretically you could run the heater for 50 minutes. Practically, closer to 15 minutes.

I have been wrong before, I'll probably be wrong again. 

2000 Kenworth T 2000 w/N-14 and 10 speed Gen1 Autoshift, deck built by Star Fabrication
2006 smart fourtwo cdi cabriolet
2007 32.5' Fleetwood Quantum

Please e-mail us here.

Noteven, you always come up with good and interesting questions, I'm NOT a Solar Expert but will offer what I learned over the years as an electrical engineer and RV owner:

YOU HAVE TO UNDESRSTAND AND COMPARE APPLES TO APPLES HERE

1) Instantaneous Power in Watts = Volts x Amps

2) Energy (like what the power company charges you) is Volts x Amps x Time IE your bill is for Killowatt HOURS   NOT  Watts !!!!!!!!!

3) A so called "1500 Watt" device is supposedly/guessing  ?? capable of delivering 1500 Watts (Volts x Amps) BUT FOR HOW LONG you need to know to derive at any Amp Hours of ENERGY STORAGE CAPACITY. Watts is Watts but Energy is Watts (Volts x Amps) for some X time.

4) A typical Deep Cycle 12 Volt Battery may be labeled and rated for say 100 Amp Hours OF ENERGY STORAGE CAPACITY. That means it is capable of delivering at the standard "20 Hour Rate" if used, 5 amps for 20 hours as 5 Amps x 20 Hours = 100 Amp Hours.