Anybody at the Clark County Gun Range this year (Las Vegas)

Vegas Teacher

Hello,

I was wondering if anybody was going to be staying up at the Clark County Gun Range here in Las Vegas with a Semi and Travel trailer. I am just starting the process. I am looking at different tractors and options but I am really green at this. I have a lot to learn, but as a teacher myself (science) I love to learn. Actually the school I teach at is just down Decatur from the gun range and I live 10 minutes from the range. Anyway I was wondering if anybody had a Semi they would like to show off, and walk a novice through what they did or had to do. I have also picked up a CDL book for my learners permit and have started reading it. I am going to be looking to buy next fall (2016) if all goes well. Has anybody out there gone to any Semi Driving Schools?

Thanks to everybody who takes the time to read this.

Sincerely,

Vegas Teacher,

Cory Ossana

Right off the reel, be very sure you actually NEED a CDL or some other "specialty" license. If you read the hundreds of threads on here about that very subject, you should come away with the understanding that you may create a liability for yourself that wasn't necessary.

As far as schools are concerned, recognize that the trucking industry is wildly short of drivers. Most, not all, schools are in the neighborhood of 2-4 weeks long, cost $4000 to $6000, and are structured with the sole goal of getting you to pass your state's CDL driver's exam and road test for a Class A vehicle. They will not spend much time on the subtleties of how to be a top flight driver.

Go to a rally. East Coast, West Coast, National, Canada (maybe). You will learn more there in a short period than anywhere else. The cost is limited to food & fuel and a small admin fee. If you're serious, those trips are worth way more than the cost. Somebody might even show you how to drive a rig,

National is in October in Hutchinson KS. Make plans now.

Welcome

Paul & Paula