Newbie (introduction) - Possible cross country trip next summer

LAzGator

Hi Folks! Newbie here just looking to introduce myself.  My wife and I had the bright idea that perhaps we should rent a travel trailer next summer to do an extensive 3-4 week RV trip out west.  We're based in South Florida, my wife is a school teacher and I own my own consulting business and am able to work from the road if needed.  Our 14 year old son is fairly serious with his baseball, and next summer is perhaps the last time that we can take off for 4 weeks at a time without interfering with his schedule.

Over the next few months I'm sure we'll generate many questions, but I'd like to ask the following to get us going on the right path:

• Does anyone have a favorite recommendation for an RV rental source?  RV share, Outdoorsy, etc.?
  • How far would you budget for a days travel?  I'm guessing 6-8 hours maximum?
  • Our truck is rated for 8900lbs (2016 F150 4x4, 5.0 V8, 3.31:1 ratio).  Am I correct in assuming we should probably keep the trailer to about 24-26' and a dry weight of about 5-6000 lbs max?
  • What kind of mpg should we expect towing 6-7000 lbs?  Is 10 mpg about right?
  • Would you recommend we get the trailer close to home, or pick it up somewhere closer to the sites and national parks?
  • How far in advance do we need to think about reserving sites at some of the major sites (Grand Canyon, Bryce, etc.)?

Many thanks for any recommendations and information you can provide!

Welcome to the Escapee forums! We are happy to help you in any way we may be able.3652-MelbourneMainExterior.png

In my experience, the most common RV rentals are what we call class C motorhomes. There are a few places that rent travel trailers but I don't know of a great availability. I suspect that may be due to the fact that most people who may wish to rent do not have the proper vehicle or equipment to tow a trailer and it requires more skill than to drive the class C.