Costco 24DC Interstate Battery

gypsydan

Does anyone have any experience with the Costco Interstate 12 volt 24DC Battery ?  How reliable are they?  How long do they last?  Are they true Deep Cycle batteries? 

Since they are marketed as Marine/RV bateries, I'm tending to believe you should not discharge them below 50%.  I'm just beginning to learn about the differences in batteries, so am not clear as to which batteries should not be discharged below 50%, and which can be discharge down to 80%.

Interstate also markets the 24DC battery.  Nowhere on fact sheets at Interstae or Costco does it state the batteries AMP HOURS, but in talking with Interstate I'm told it is an 81 amp hour battery.  This seems unusual, since Costco is sellling them for $73.00. 

I'm therefore confused as to whether or not the 24DC battery, at $73.00, is a good buy and will last more than a year as compared to batteries in the $200 range. I'm looking at the 24DC as the battery compartment on my class C will only hold a group 24 battery. I am planning on putting solar on my RV to help in keeping them charged.

Thank you in advance for any help.

2009 Four Winds Chateau - 25' class C          2002 Chevy Tracker

1458033694__statesVisitedas-ofMarch-2012.jpg.b173645da4a43150ba2820dc7a6bdfc5.jpg

The 24DC 12v is a hybrid marine/deep cycle (vs. true deep cycle) battery with... if I remember correctly... ~60ah capacity. Typically, any battery that has a CCA rating on it is going to be a starter or hybrid.

Let me double check.....  Yup. 58ah capacity (140min@25a).