Snow removal off of sliders

Sunshine1

I'm new to full time RVing, and find myself wintering in Indiana. I have 2 sliders on my travel trailer, without the toppers. What seems to be best to use for snow removal off of the top of sliders?? I'm afraid of damaging them, thought of maybe a push broom? How often do you remove snow? As soon as it falls? Any ideas would be appreciated!

The best option is to pull your slides in (turtle up) during snow fall. If that's not practical, the best option I've seen, when snow might be expected, is to cut tarp lengths to fit the tops with a bit of overhang. Secure the ends with nylon rope around the slide to hold the tarp in place. When you're ready to clear your slide tops just slide the tarp off one end or the other and the snow will come off with it.

I suppose a push broom would work, but that would mean having to get up on your roof... in the snow... when it's cold and wet out. ;)

It's best to try and keep them as clear as possible. You don't really want that additional weight up top, it's more likely that melting snow will find it's way past your seals, and if you leave it overnight, the bottom layer that will undoubtedly be saturated with water is likely to freeze to the surface. That's NO fun at all.

The tarp method is also handy when camping in forested areas to clear needles/leaves/branches as well before packing up.

We had slide-toppers on ours, a quick run in and out would shed a four inch snowfall, more than that we we'd use a broom to knock it off.

You need to be very careful as the roof will be slick, one missed step and you could fall a long ways and on something unfriendly too. When sweeping keep a bit back from the side gaskets when pushing the snow off, once the top is mostly clear go back and lightly brush them to get them clear.

Some slides will have issues with ice dams and can leak into the rig, them you have to keep clear while others never have an issue.