Tow vehicle

Chuck

Interested in any comments relative to Sport Chassis tow vehicles. Currently  have a 2000 f350 7.3, pulling a tow behind travel trailer. We will be moving toward full time, hopefully, within the next year. My 2000 is not sufficient to pull our planned upgrade to fifth wheel, approx 20,000#. I am interested in moving to a pre-emissions tow vehicle. Is it worth giving consideration to an Fl 60 or M2 arrangement up to the 2007 model year? What are maintance cost considerations compared to dually 350/450, 3500's Dodge or Chevy?

I'll just welcome you to the forums and comment that too much truck is a much better choice than too little. Since I have no experience towing a fifth wheel, I'll leave the rest to those who have but did want to say "hello."  :D

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I have a 2004 Freightliner M2 that i enjoy driving. It is more roomy than a standard pickup cab but i can't speak to the size of the 450 size cabs.  The deck of my truck has more storage than i really need but it is all under lock and key so i don't worry about stuff dissapearing out of the box if i leave it unattended.  The weight of the truck makes for safer handeling on curvey or rough loads.  The 300 hp and 800ft lb torque are adequate but i could always use more on the long steep pulls.  My Fullhouse is a heavy trailer and my m2 is JUST enough truck for my needs.

2004 Freightliner m2 106  2015 DRV lx450 Fullhouse  2019 Indian Springfield 2014 Yamaha 950 V-Star

Chuck