OT: Faulty LED Lights

SuiteSuccess

I noticed in our camper (2017 DRV 39 DBRS3) that a number of our LED lights were only illuminating 1/2 the diodes and several were “flickering”.  I was going to replace them and found they were the LS1508-A made by Command Electronics.  When disassembling to find maker and part number, I noticed the light was extremely hot to the touch and had a brown gel discharge.  Further research showed on several other RV forums this has been a problem with one forum having measured the temps close to 200 degrees F.  I contacted Command Electronics and she acknowledged that in 2017 they had received a faulty batch of boards.  They are going to replace my lights with newer.  I have no knowledge if later boards are faulty but if you have Command LEDs might want to check them for heat and faults.  Below is a pic of mine.

6YPKbsQl.jpg
bKUjQevl.jpg

Edited by SuiteSuccess

2006 Volvo 780 "Hoss" Volvo D12, 465hp, 1650 ft/lbs tq., ultrashift

Bed Build by "JW Morgan's Custom Welding"

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

2013 Smart Passion Coupe "Itty Bitty"

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

28 minutes ago, spindrift said:

200° for an LED??  Yikes!

My thoughts exactly.

2017 DRV 39DBRS3

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first!"

Command Electronics gave me 52 replacement element for my 2017 DRV Fullhouse. I've already had @ 20 changes before I found out that they would replace them.

Ken....

IMG_856.png.ae22d1dc2b12f9fb806b4e17121ee0b0.png

2017 DRV Fullhouse JX450

2020 Volvo VNR 42-640, D13, 455hp, Ishift, 189"wb, factory single, ET Junior Hitch @ 195", Jacklopee, Directlink

2016 GMC 3500 Denali DRW, CC, LB, Curt 25k, Sold

Command Electronics sent me 50+ new led light boards for my 2017 DRV as well (back in 2017).  I replaced them as they would go bad.  I still have a box full of those boards in my shop.