working couple trying to decide what type of rig to get for full timing

swtamiet

Hello all. This is my first time posting but my hubs and I have been racking our brains, trying to decide what type of rig makes sense for our situation. I'm hoping for some input for those with more experience than we have. (which is pretty much anyone who has spent one night in an RV).We have two small dogs and work full time. We want to buy an RV (without spending more than 20K). And live full time in the local RV park. We have two small fuel efficient cars to get us to and from work and do not want to buy a truck. That being said, a motor home seems to make sense in order to be self sufficient in moving the rig about. HOWEVER, the 5th wheels especially and the travel trailers too really are appealing in spaciousness and liveability. But, how hard is it to find a mover to move either to an RV park. And, once there, are there occasions when we would have to move it about? Does one need to move their RV to dump the tanks? Or is it generally done with a long hose? Have I asked to many questions? Your thoughts appreciated.

Welcome to the Escapees Forum!

Full hookup RV parks (the kind you'll be looking at for long term) have all of the utilities right at the site itself. Just plug in the electricity, run the water and sewer hoses to the appropriate fixtures on the site and you're set. You won't have to move to dump the tanks.

That said, the park may require you have a vehicle available to move a trailer out of the park on demand. This has to do with residency rights in some areas - if you can't vacate immediately you may be considered a resident instead of a short term tenant and that adds complications if the park ever has to evict you.