• Mint
    • Debian
    • Lubuntu
    • openSUSE
    • elementaryOS
    • arch linux
    • Slackwire
    • Other

With the intro of Win10 I have decided to finally relook at Linux, and would like to know what distro's others are using.

- Why did you pick your choice?

- Did you use other distro's before the one you are currently using?

- How long have you been using Linux?

- What computer do you use? commercial or home built?

2009 Four Winds Chateau - 25' class C          2002 Chevy Tracker

1458033694__statesVisitedas-ofMarch-2012.jpg.b173645da4a43150ba2820dc7a6bdfc5.jpg

I use OpenSuse, Xubuntu, and Mint for different things. My primary system is still windows 10.

I have previously used Zorin. Although my background is in computers from home builts to main frames, I have been a PC standard user/builder/developer for 30 years. I prefer Windows 10 for the types of tools and facilities it offers me.

However, I also find some linux distros to be a very good alternative and in some cases, a better choice for rote use.

The annoying thing I find about switching OS bases is the difficulty of implementing and sometimes using tools from another base. Most windows based mainline applications will run under the mainline Linux distros but finding how to hold my mouth just right to find out how to set them up and use them can be exhausting.

Of the many Linux distros I have tried, I have found OpenSuse Leap to be the easiest to install and to use without having to know much about LInux guts, tools and assumptions. I have not found anything I have wanted to put on it that would not work but like all of the Linux distros, figuring out how to get a few of them installed and accessed for use, can get pretty convoluted.