Sailun Tires?

maggie blair

Does anyone know the quality of Sailun tires? A dealer sent me to a tire shop and they installed 6 of these tires and told me the tires are middle grade tires. I went out this morning and noticed the tires are made in China. The dealer did not give me a written guarantee but told me the tires should run 50,000 miles or 5-7 years. I am bit concerned about the quality. anyone have any suggestions?

Maggie Blair

I will say that I have never been one who is willing to save money in choice of tires as I consider them to be much too important. I have no knowledge of the brand you now have, but did find this review of them. Digging more I found another and it may be worth a look, but neither of these address the truck tires that they sell, which is no doubt what you have. Since you already have them I doubt that there is much you could do now to change tires so my advice is to watch them very carefully, be sure to keep them properly inflated at all times and take all of the precautions that any of us take when parked.

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I've heard of them, but don't personally have a very high opinion. Since they are already installed I don't know that there is much you can do, but I would certainly keep a VERY close eye on them and would not take their 50,000 mile 5-7 year life expectancy too close to heart. A lot of the "big boys" would have a hard time living up to a claim like that.

From a recent excerpt: ""We're not Michelin, we're a value tier tire" acknowledges Brian Mielko, VP of Marketing.

But value-priced tires represent a whopping 41% of overall sales, with the big name brands such as Michelin, Bridgestone and Goodyear constituting 75% of that. So far, none of the smaller tire companies have exceeded more than 3% of those sales.