Satellite Signal Meter Recommendations

I'm new to satellite TV and recently switched to Dish Network. I'm trying to learn how to setup and point my portable dish and have quickly figured out I need to get a signal meter. I bought one of the cheap ($15) ones, but it was junk and didn't work. I'm ready to get a "real" meter, but I'm not sure which one to get. Anyone have any recommendations for a good, easy to use signal meter?

If you are using DPP LNBF heads (standard), then I used an Acutrac 22 Pro with a lot of success but it is discontinued.  I then used a First Strike FS-1 which identified the satellite it is connecting to.

For a Hopper 3 with hybrid DPH LNBFs, then a Super Buddy 29 meter is needed.  Very pricey but it does a tremendous job.

Please click for Emails instead of PM
Mark & Dale
Joey - 2016 Bounder 33C Tige - 2006 40' Travel Supreme
Sparky III - 2021 Mustang Mach-e, off the the Road since 2019
Useful HDT Truck, Trailer, and Full-timing Info at
www.dmbruss.com

I have the Hopper 3 with the hybrid LNBs.  

Over $460 is pricey.  I was looking at some of the $150-200 ones, but they all seem to be made for overseas and have little to no support.  I'm going to be setting the dish up every week so maybe I will need to bite the bullet and pay the big bucks.

Thanks

I did a quick look at the First Strike FS-1 you mentioned, and it looks pretty nice. Only $250 on Amazon and appears to have a good support site with a lot of information. From what I read on that site, it appears it would work with my setup. Is there a reason that it won't?

24 minutes ago, cshrader said:

I did a quick look at the First Strike FS-1 you mentioned, and it looks pretty nice. Only $250 on Amazon and appears to have a good support site with a lot of information. From what I read on that site, it appears it would work with my setup. Is there a reason that it won't?

According to Mark, the FS-1 doesn't work with DPH LNBs.