buying first RV

dean e epstein

Hi I'm new here and joined escapees a few weeks ago because I'm looking to move out of California at the end of the year and RV my way to Florida to start a new chapter in my life. I haven't actually bough my RV yet and am wondering since Florida is going to be my domicile would it be better to buy an RV in that state or does it matter?  If i buy in another state will I have to pay taxes on it in both states. And lastly since Im a disabled Veteran does anyone know if Florida gives any kind of tax breaks to someone in my situation??

Thanks!

End of the year is not the best time to change domiciles--I'd leave at least a month earlier or later then file a partial year income tax form to make it clear to California you are indeed leaving. They have a reputation for trying to claim you still live there.

If you get your new domicile address before you buy the RV in California you can avoid paying their sales tax by having it delivered out of state then staying gone. Dealer's are used to doing that. Then you register it in your new state and pay their rate which is almost always less than California's rate. Depending on which mail forwarder you choose they will register your new RV for you and mail you the plates for an extra fee. Either way you can get a temporary sticker to use while in transit to your new location but those tend to have a pretty short use by date so you couldn't wander your way east.

Linda

Blog: http://sandcastle.sandsys.org/

Former Rigs: Liesure Travel van, Winnebago View 24H, Winnebago Journey 34Y, Sportsmobile Sprinter conversion van

Welcome to the Escapee forums, Dean! It is great having you as part of both the forums and of the RV Club. We are here to help so please do feel free to ask as many questions as you like and to join into all or any of the conversations here.