Cracks in tire rims-

PAylor

Hi all,

We took delivery in March of 2014 of a Big Horn fifth wheel, straight off the factory floor. We have been very happy with it. We've put lots of miles on it and spend more time on the road than we do in our home.

The only complaint we have had with it has been an ongoing problem with the rims. It was a challenge to find the trouble. We had a flat tire after about six months on the road but nothing was wrong with the tire. Finally found it was the rim. The rim company replaced it. When the second rim went out they replaced all four rims. In addition we purchased a additional rim so we now travel with two spare tires. We are now beginning to have trouble with the second set of rims. The company once again has offered to replace them.

I'm not a mechanic but this seems to be a bit extreme. My husband is very cautious about maintaining the correct tire pressure. Has anyone else had a problem like this? And beyond replacing the rims (which the company seems to be happy to do) is there anything else anyone can suggest we do about it? It's becoming a major hassle.

Thanks in advance!

We were also having problems with tires going flat. We finally found the rubber valve stems were not up to task, and replaced them all with high pressure, bolt in metal stems. No more problems. This may be something you want to look into.

Sniper & Sweet P

Escapees 124743 H.O.C. 1371

I agree with the comments in posts #2 & #3. Go with a different rim type/brand and metal valve stems on that size/weight of rv should rectify the issue. Your problems and the companies response is admirable, but sort of reminds me of a certain other companies response to their rv fridge cooling issues that a number of people have been having with units in the 2000-2010 yrs. They obviously have a faulty product and are replacing it with a product of like quality. :ph34r: