Mounting Generator on the HDT

Black Pearl

Hello all :D ! I am a Newbie to posting on this forum, but have been lurking (monitoring) for over a year now on various sites gathering information regarding the potential design of my HDT. Its all in the planning right? I'm finally ready to start posting questions and provide comments too the group (well kinda started already). I believe I have the life experiences that could support the HDT and full time RV lifestyle. My goal is to continue the research for my particular application and proceed with a truck purchase hopefully next year, pending CFO (the wife) approval of course . The trailer is another discussion.

In talking to Jack Mayer some time ago he suggested to consider mounting the generator on the truck chassis and not on the RV trailer. I thought about this for quite some time and still can't find a good reason why not?

• I plan to run two 150 gallon diesel fuel tanks, having the generator tied into that system makes the refueling easy with one stop.
  • Puts the weight where you want it near the drive axles.
  • No vibrations from the gen set in the trailer because it is not on the trailer
  • I would provide a power reel (same 50A power retract the coaches have) to allow the truck to park beside the trailer or a distance away.
  • Exhaust would be straight up the side of the drom box sending the noise up.
  • An easy access roll out box could be used for servicing, similar to the Tiffin Allegro Bus I had.
  • I was thinking to mount this on the driver side between the left fuel tank and the first rear wheel (at this point it will be a tandem drive truck). Many transport owner operators are doing this now.
  • I've looked at the Gen set sizing and could place a 10,000 kw unit in that location easily. Trailer power requirements are yet to be determined but should be in there somewhere.
  • The truck will have all the power to run anything in the bunk at any time like ductless AC.