New horizons and drv

Nanascots

Check the Ford Towing Guides, weigh your truck and work the numbers out. The DRV probably, the New Horizons, probably not.

Ken

Amateur radio operator, 2023 Cougar 22MLS, 2022 F150 Lariat 4x4 Off Road, Sport trim <br />Travel with 1 miniature schnauzer, 1 standard schnauzer and one African Gray parrot

I am a newbie, but I think you want to look at the actual weight capacity numbers, towing and pin weight for the truck and trailer. Then, if it were me, I would build in a cushion and not try hauling at full rated capacity.

You did not ask about HDT's, but let me add, that I bought (literally) into the HDT justifications I heard from the forums HDT users who used to drive LDT's and I am not at all sorry that I did. Mainly for safety reasons. But also, I would not want to be driving a big pickup around as a daily driver. We are putting a lot of miles on our little smart car. I also believe that overall cost may be less with the HDT over time. I think the disadvantages that I have found for the HDT are greater when compared to a smaller trailer that can be maneuvered into older campgrounds in State and Federal Parks. But if you are looking at 40 foot trailers anyhow, it may not be for you, but I think you should give an HDT full consideration.

Jim

Volvo+and+Travel+Supreme+400+x+103.jpg

2001 Volvo 770, Detroit 60 Series, Gen 2 Autoshift

Passenger assist elevator to enter cab - for when we need it, or sell it?

'05 Travel Supreme Select 40 RLQSO 5th wheel

2016 smart car

We started full timing on December 1st 2014

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness - Mark Twain
Not all that wander are lost - J. R. R. Tolkien

Most years of F450 will tow most 40' NH without a problem. Within specs. If you are more specific in what you want on the NH and which year your truck is and what you have in the truck (for example, hauler body?) I can give you a more specific answer.

Jack & Danielle Mayer #60376 Lifetime Member