Upgrading -looking for hp, tq, wt, gear info

INWsters

Been reading tons of posts on this forum as well as all the other online info i can find about RV conversion/toter/haulers for 5th wheels.  Amazing amount of experience and knowledge contributed here.  New to RV's, have a F350 Dually gasser pulling a 37' toyhauler around the northwest - i.e. over Cascade and Rocky Mountain passes.  First trip over the continental divide, 3500# under my expected usual weight of 15500# (trailer grosses 17k) convinced me that truck doesnt have the power or more importantly, the brakes for towing a trailer that heavy in my part of the country.  I'm a MDT delivery truck driver during the week so big doesnt bother me, sooooo, thinking I am looking for an HDT hauler.

Already have one truck not big enough for the job, dont want to make that mistake on an HDT.  Gonna be looking for an older unit, preferably with a deck to fit ATV or Razer,  to use primarily for 600-1000 mile weekends 10-12 times per year plus a couple of longer trips.  I have a good friend who has a coach type conversion pulling an enclosed trailer and another who's a HDT mechanic, primarily on log trucks so I have some good resources locally.  However, I'm hoping some folks here can point me in the right direction in determining what my requirements are.

How can I figure out what combination of horsepower, torque, tire size, rear end ratio, transmission choice/speeds, HDT weight will pull 20k at the 70-75mph.  I did find the advice of a minimum 425hp/1450 torque, but that looked like for a 30k trailer plus a smart car.   I'm ok with some drop on long grades, but based on my current truck if its close to maxxed out pulling flat ground at 65mph you have dang little left for hills.  6 plus percenters have me down to 30mph.  Not an experience I want to repeat.