Water Pump won’t shut off

Bsaito

I recently bought a new travel trailer as I live in one during the winter at a ski resort. This is a new one this year for me but I’ve been doing this for 3 years now. 
When I went to wash my dishes, the water pump kicked on but won’t shut off. 
Is this a strainer issue that I need to replace? Filter? 
My water tank is full and emptying it just to replace this isnt very easily done.. is it possible to replace either of these without emptying the freshwater? 
Best tips and tricks regarding that? 

I’ve gotten used to fixing my own stuff over the years but water issues is new for me. ANY thoughts about this will be helpful. 
I do have a skirt on and temps haven’t changed much over the past few days. My trailer usually sits at about 75-80 degrees inside. 

It looks like most of us missed your post so am sorry about the delay in responding! 

The RV water pump turns on and off by a pressure switch that is mounted to the pump. The pump also acts as a check valve to prevent the pressure from backflowing to the water tank so the problem could be the pump. If your tank is filled via a tank fill valve from the city water connection, leaving that valve open when finished filling the tank can also cause your problem. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

I'm pretty much in the same camp as Kirk on this one. If alls well once pressure reaches 30 to 50 or so PSI the pressure switch on the pump should shut it off. If not,

On 12/13/2020 at 5:15 PM, Bsaito said:

here are a few possible causes:

There's a restriction in the input suction line FROM pump TO fresh water tank outlet,,,,,,Maybe due to a clogged screen/filter,,,,,,,A pinched/closed line,,,,,,,,,,,,,,A clog/plug in the line,,,,,,,,,,,Tank is low or the outlet pipe has a restriction.