Autoshift clutch

Stan Wright

I test drove a first generation Autoshift today. The clutch was very stiff! Much more than the 13-speed I tried earlier this week. Do Autoshifts normally have a stiff clutch, or is it something that varies from truck to truck? Other than the stiff clutch I liked the Autoshift. There's no way my better half could work a clutch that stiff, though. I might have to narrow the search to 2-pedal trucks.

I am no expert on this, but I can say that I would not want anything much harder to depress than the clutch in my Gen 2 Autoshift. I understand there is another option called something like an EZ Clutch. It is supposed to be easier to press. If I ever replace my clutch I plan to look into that option. For now I can deal with the clutch I have.

A third option is to rig a clutch assistance device as at least one member of the forum has done. You will find a project by Sibernut Air Assisted Clutch in the Resource Guide.

Jim

Volvo+and+Travel+Supreme+400+x+103.jpg

2001 Volvo 770, Detroit 60 Series, Gen 2 Autoshift

Passenger assist elevator to enter cab - for when we need it, or sell it?

'05 Travel Supreme Select 40 RLQSO 5th wheel

2016 smart car

We started full timing on December 1st 2014

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness - Mark Twain
Not all that wander are lost - J. R. R. Tolkien

I am no expert on this, but I can say that I would not want anything much harder to depress than the clutch in my Gen 2 Autoshift. I understand there is another option called something like an EZ Clutch. It is supposed to be easier to press. If I ever replace my clutch I plan to look into that option. For now I can deal with the clutch I have.

A third option is to rig a clutch assistance device as at least one member of the forum has done. You will find a project by Sibernut Air Assisted Clutch in the Resource Guide.

Jim