tow bars etc

hummingbird

Hi Folks

We are in the process of buying a 2005 Minnie Winnie and are excited to get on the road. total newbies.

I am trying to determine whether we need to tow a small car or not. We will be doing a west to east coast trip and back.

Questions for those who have had experience with an RV this size:

How feasible is it for us to do a trip like this using our RV only?

If we were to tow a vehicle are there recommendations to which system is the best to have installed on the toad?

And should that system be installed by a professional or can one DYI?

Happy Trails,

Hummingbird

Our Class C is only 29' in length, but we quickly found out we needed a car! However, there are people who fulltime in a motorhome without a car, so it really boils down to personal preference.

Why not try it for awhile without a car and see how you get along? You can always get one later, if you decide you have to have one.

The most complicated part of any towing setup is probably installing the base plate on the car. So whether or not this is a DYI, depends on your level of expertise is doing this type of work. There are people who do their own installations, but not us...we paid someone else to do the work!

LindaH
2014 Winnebago Aspect 27K
2011 Kia Soul

Great deal of personal preference involved here. Some don't tow a car at all. They use the RV for sight-seeing, and/or they rent a car when they want to do side trips.

As already stated, you could DIY the installation of a tow bar base plate IF you are handy and have a place to work. I had my first one done, and I did the second myself. The industry leaders in tow setups are Blue Ox, Roadmaster, & Demco. They all have similar systems including towbar, base plate, lights, and brake systems. And of course you have to be sure that the car you wish to tow can be towed 4-down. The website www.remcotowing.com is a good place to research that along with what might be required for a specific car.