Mixing Panels - Mono/Poly...140w / 160w

I have two 140w / 12v Poly panels on my TT running through a Bogart PWM controller. They are in parallel.

I see a good deal on Ebay for 165w / 12v Mono panel that I'd like to add in parallel to the existing.

My controller can handle up to 30 amps which I would be well under.

Is this doable?

RoyB

South of Boston

2021 Dodge 2500 - 6.4L

Forest River 19RR Toy Hauler

Roofnest Falcon Rooftop Tent

www.rvbprecision.com

Mono combined with Poly is not an issue as long as their operating voltages are within a few tenths of a volt. Exact operating volts is preferred.
The 12v nominal you mentioned is not enough to go by. The Vmpp is the spec you'll want to look at.

Mark

Mark & Sue---SKP#86611
'06 International 4400LoPro DT570 310hp 950ft-lbs.-Allison--3.70 gears
'05 36' Teton Liberty
'12 BMW F650 twin

rb, I'm NOT a Solar Expert, but lets do the math. If I understand your post you have two 140 watt panels in parallel and you want to add another 165 watts still all in parallel right?????????????

If so that's 445 total watts and ifffffffffffffffffffff your panels actually produce 18 volts under load ????? (I cant know that setting here) that's 25 amps and your 30 amp controller will suffice. Of course, if your actual loaded operating voltages were significantly less, the 30 amp may not suffice???? Subject to the length of your wiring from panels to controller and assume 25 max amps, depending on how much voltage drop you can tolerate, that could be 8 Gauge minimum and preferably even bigger wire (Id design for overkill and use bigger wire even where smaller gauge suffices) to your controller.

While the voltages you listed might "work" if I had my druthers Id prefer the output voltages of panels in parallel to be closer then what you posted, as the two will be in competition with the new single BUT I DONT HAVE ANY EXACT DETAILS AND VOLTAGE TOLERANCES HANDY.

Something to consider in series versus parallel configurations.