Carefree Vacation'r Screen Room

mrdfred

We have a 25' TT and would like to expand our living space. Has anyone used an awning add on room to expand their living space like the Carefree Vacation'r Screen Room? How has it worked? What problems can I anticipate?

First let me say I have no experience with them. However here in Australia they are very very common. (Our rvs are smaller so the extra space outside is important). We've Rved in the USA for over 7 years in total in the passed 20 years and in that time seen almost zero Screen Rooms. It has always intrigued us as to why Americans haven't taken to them to expand their living space. Especially snow birds.

I'll be interested to see what feedback you get.

regards

We own a Coleman freestanding screen room and have been very pleased with it. Last summer it withstood some pretty strong winds on Prince Edward Island without problems. We did replace the thin metal "tent stakes" with much heavier plastic ones but that was the only modification. The Coleman screen rooms use a unique support system that makes it possible for one person to raise or lower it in less than ~15 minutes.

Sandie & Joel

2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton--425 HP/1550 ft-lbs CAT C-12
2014 Honda CR-V AWD EX-L with ReadyBrute tow bar/brake system
WiFiRanger Ambassador
Follow our adventures on Facebook at Weiss Travels

I had one on my Coleman Tent Trailer. It was great....but....

They take a bit of time to put up. It was always an adventure when it when it went up once a year during hunting season. Now how does it fit together??

They are LARGE to carry around. That might be an issue if you are limited for space.

Then there is wind.....I had it flattened two or three times. Poles were fixed with duct tape. It does take more than a 20 mph wind to flatten them.