Cummins 275 hp ISB diesel does not want to rev higer than 1400 rpm

PaulKarman

Hi, I'm new to Rv'ing, diesel engines and this forum. I hope I posted this at the right place or otherwise someone can help me find my way?

We just bought a 2002 Winnebago Journey, a 275 Hp diesel pusher, with what I think is just a small problem, and I realy hope I am right....

Sometimes, with increasing regularity the unit is not drivable just after starting. The engine idles at 650 rpm or so and after pushing the gas pedal it jumps up to 1400 rpm. It is not possible to rev the engine higher or lower. It's either 650 or 1400 rpm. After some time the engine reacts back normal on the throttle. Sometimes it takes longer sometimes shorter, sometimes it takes a restart, sometimes it does not. Sometimes the problem is back directlly after restarting and sometimes it is not. Of course we let the machine warm up while running idle for a while but temperature does not seem to be a factor. Lucily the engine has not relapsed on us while on the road.

Since the problem is so nicely reproducable and the rpm's realy stabilise so nicely and quickly at 1400 rpm I don't think it is a mechanical problem. It feels like a design feature that I am yet to be made aware of.

Somewhere I read about protection circutry that prevents a diesel from revving whenever there is anything connected that needs to be protected against higher rpm's. For instance to protect a hydrolic pump that can not handle the high rpm's. But I'm not sure whether and how this would apply to our Winnebago Journey.

Does anyone have any idea on what to look for. I am reasonably handy but for now I am totally unfamiliar with our beautiful diesel pusher.